Cupcakes

I am an avid watcher of The Great British Bake Off. It wasn’t always so. I dipped in and out, but it wasn’t priority viewing. I watched the last few episodes of series three in 2012, and then last year I succumbed to peer pressure and watched the fourth series in its entirety. Who knew that a dozen people in a tent making cake, bread and pastry could be so entertaining? Cake is one of my most favourite things in the world. I also like freshly baked bread. I have many friends who bake. One bakes professionally, one has a blog documenting her successes and accidents, most just do it for fun. I even know someone who bakes on a narrow boat. I liked baking with my mum when I was a kid, and I baked cakes when I was at university, but now I rarely have the ingredients in the cupboard and never seem to find the time. Plus, it’s much nicer when someone else bakes for you. Today’s picture is one of the cupcakes my friend who is a professional baker made for my mum’s birthday. There’s a book theme because Mum used to work in a library.

